F. Joseph Anderson Award


The F. Joseph Anderson award was created in honour of Founding Chairman F. Joseph Anderson. Mr. Anderson served on the Board of Directors from 2002 to 2011.

The F. Joseph Anderson award will recognize an individual who has made a significant contribution to further the aims of Talk Is Free Theatre through their contributions of volunteerism, leadership, financial support or stewardship.

2016 Recipient – Ashley Frederick

Photo from left: Diane Frederick, Ashley Frederick and Arkady Spivak.

At the Annual General Meeting, held on November 25, Talk Is Free Theatre Board of Directors have announced Ashley Frederick as the recipient of this year’s F. Joseph Anderson Award.

In his presenting speech, Mr. Anderson wrote: “Fourteen years ago when Arkady and I first began scheming, we were consumed with figuring out how to launch and then sustain such an ambitious new theatre project.  Probably the last thing on our minds was how Talk Is Free Theatre would prepare to set up for the next generation. Although she’s not yet 20 years old, Ashley is already demonstrating many of the qualities I once saw in a young Arkady Spivak, and that gives me great hope for the future.”

Some of Ashley Frederick’s work at TIFT includes duties as the Associate Producer of the iconic production of The Music Man, which was given a site-specific, moving version; producing various supporter recognition events, working backstage as a Production Assistant and completing a myriad of other administrative duties. Ashley is currently in her second year of Theatre Studies at York University.

“I am just ecstatic to be this year’s recipient of the F. Joseph Anderson Award” – says Ashley Frederick. “I cannot thank the members and patrons of Talk is Free Theatre enough, for allowing me the opportunity to grow and learn through this company. TIFT has wiggled into a special place in my heart, and I hope there are many more years of collaboration to come!”

2015 Recipients – Vicky Dvorak and Gary Yetman

2014 Recipient – Beth Foster

2013 Recipient – Bernetta Starkey

2012 Recipient – Stephen D. Sperling

2011 Recipient – Aline Revoy