Michael Torontow & Glynis Ranney in The Curious Voyage. Photo by Claudia Brookes

Founded in 2003 in Barrie by Artistic Producer Arkady Spivak and colleagues, TIFT has produced more than 100 works.

The company develops and produces a wide range of work from the periphery of the mainstream, concentrating on new writing, neglected classics and drastic re-examinations of established repertoire. TIFTs programming emphasizes the development and production of off-centre, story-driven musicals and new types of site-specific, immersive creation, among others.

The company recently undertook one of the boldest and largest immersive experiences in Canadian theatre history.  The Curious Voyage was a 3-day long journey, which began in Barrie, Canada and took the audience, quite literally, to London, UK. This was an unprecedented endeavour that garnered national accolades and was a major step towards the creation of The WOW Collection, the multi-disciplinary festival of immersive art.

TIFT has produced several world premieres of Canadian musicals including Scenes from the Bathhouse, Variations on a Nervous Breakdown, One Step Forward and Music for the Changing Voice. Other notable productions of musicals include the Canadian premiere of absurdist musical Anyone Can Whistle, a cross-gendered production of Guys and Dolls, site-specific roving production of The Music Man, the world premiere of the American musical Dani Girl, and the rarely seen Floyd Collins (in co-production with Vancouver’s Patrick Street Productions). TIFT’s co-production with Birdland Theatre of Sondheim’s Assassins was a sold-out success, a Dora Mavor Moore Award winner for Best Production of a Musical in 2010 and has been named one of Ten Best Toronto Theatre Shows of the Decade by NOW Magazine.

Actor standing inside a plastic Orb
David Andrew Reid. Photo by Scott Cooper

TIFT also tours its productions. Staged on a moving city bus, the company’s production of Tales of an Urban Indian premiered in 2009 and has been on an indefinite tour across Canada, to the United States, and internationally. Tales of an Urban Indian celebrated its 500th performance in Brisbane, Australia in 2019 and was part of Yirramboi Festival, Australia’s premier First Nations arts and cultural event. Other tours include Possible Worlds to Munich, Assassins to The Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre in Winnipeg, The Wedding Party to the National Arts Centre in Ottawa and The Tale of Ivan vs. Ivan to Serbia, England and Russia. In 2020, TIFT toured site-specific productions of Every Brilliant Thing, For Both Resting and Breeding and Tales of an Urban Indian under The Canada Capsule to Adelaide, Australia where Every Brilliant Thing was awarded ‘Best Production’ in the theatre category.

Some of the artists who have worked with TIFT include Maja Ardal, Leslie Arden, Herbie Barnes, Mitchell Cushman, Darrell Dennis, Arlene Duncan, Cathy Elliott, Alana Hibbert, Chilina Kennedy, Diana Leblanc, Craig Lauzon, Marti Maraden, Mike Nadajewski, Lucy Peacock, Jennifer Phipps, Glynis Ranney, Michael Torontow and Jean Yoon, among many others.

Artistic Producer
Arkady Spivak was recently acclaimed as a 2020 Canadian Arts Hero by the Globe and Mail. He founded Talk Is Free Theatre in 2003, which tackles the cross-section of repertoire, in traditional and immersive mediums. Since TIFT's founding, Spivak produced 101 works in Barrie, Canada, and toured nationally and internationally. TIFT won a prestigious Dora Award for its co-production of Assassins. In the fall of 2018, Spivak produced the largest theatre experience in the world, entitled The Curious Voyage. It was the 3-day long journey, in which each patron became the protagonist of their own story, and was transported, quite literally, from Barrie and London, UK. Commissioned by the National Arts Centre, TIFT's COVID artistic response was an imaginary wedding, Something Bubbled Something Blue, in which the party wore human size rideable balls over their formal attires. The work has been viewed on Facebook 1,800,000 times and is now being developed into a long-form narrative engagement.

Spivak has served, a number of times, as a Juror for the Ontario Arts Council, Canada Council for the Arts and for Theatre Ontario’s Professional Theatre Training Program. Spivak is a volunteer mentor for Business and the Arts, working with a number of emerging and small-scale organizations. He’s a recipient of the inaugural Barrie Arts Award and Contributions to Tourism Award.

Communications Associate
While pursuing a double-degree program in Biochemistry and Chemical Engineering at the University of Ottawa, Michael began performing with local community theatre groups and realized he was headed down the wrong career path. He smartened up, earned a Bachelor of Arts in Theatre and Arts Administration, and immediately moved to Toronto. After beginning his professional acting career on the US National Tour of Mamma Mia!, Michael returned to Canada to play Link Larkin in the original Canadian company of Hairspray and has been gracing stages from coast to coast ever since.

Michael has performed in and directed several productions with TIFT, including the adventurous The Curious Voyage, the award-winning Every Brilliant Thing, the critically acclaimed Into the Woods, and the Dora Award-winning production of Sweeney Todd. In 2019, he began working alongside Arkady Spivak in an administrative capacity, taking on more curatorial roles involving season casting and programming. Under the auspices of TIFT and with support from Patrick Street Productions in Vancouver, Michael is also Project Manager and Developer for the forthcoming Canadian Musical Theatre Database, an online platform to champion the production of Canadian creations at home and around the world and foster a more connected national musical theatre community.


Alastair Forbes
Randolph J. Johnston
Kay Kanbayashi
Mike Nadajewski
Arkady Spivak

Bigger than BIG ADs

Noah Beemer
Alexis Gordon
Gabe Maharjan
Joe Pagnan
David Andrew Reid
Merlin Simard
Michael Torontow


Maja Ardal
Herbie Barnes
Daniele Bartolini
Jeff Braunstein
Mitchell Cushman
Esther Jun
Billy Lake
Michael Torontow


Cameron Carver
Alyssa Martin
David Andrew Reid
Lori Watson

Music Directors

Stephan Ermel
Wayne Gwillim
Daniel Rutzen
James Smith
Chris Tsujiuchi


Kathleen Black
Nick Blais
Michelle Bohn
Alice Cousins
Matt Dawson
Anahita Dehbonehie
Laura Delchiaro
Josh Doerksen
Alexandra Lord
Joe Pagnan
Jeff Pybus

Intimacy Directors

Alix Sideris


Jennifer Walls (Director)
Echo Zhou (Designer)


Jason Allin
Thom Allison
Maja Ardal
John Askew
David Ball
Herbie Barnes
Jahlen Barnes
Allison Basha
Noah Beemer
Tess Benger
Shane Carty
Brendan Chandler
Dillan Chiblow
David Coomber
Aidan deSalaiz
Saccha Dennis
Beau Dixon
Jake Epstein
Gabi Epstein
Izad Etemadi
Justin Goodhand
Alexis Gordon
Cameron Grant
Griffin Hewitt
Alana Hibbert
Amy Keating
Germaine Konji
Madelyn Kriese
Derek Kwan
Billy Lake
Richard Lam
Cyrus Lane
Craig Lauzon
Jeff Lillico
Jacob MacInnis
Michaela Mar
Judy Marshak
Andrew McAllister
Jamie McRoberts
Charlotte Moore
Justan Myers
Mike Nadajewski
Alex Poch-Goldin
Glynis Ranney
David Andrew Reid
Steve Ross
Amelia Sargisson
Travis Seetoo
Merlin Simard
James Smith
Vanessa Smythe
Giovanni Spina
Justin Stadnyk
Jennifer Stewart
Amy Swift
Jonathan Tan
Alexander Thomas
Alicia Toner
Michael Torontow
Kristian Truelsen
Kimberly-Ann Truong
Tahirih Vejdani
Rob Ward
Evelyn Wiebe

Casey Farley – Chair
Michael Collins
Jenivieve de Vries
Casey George

Kim Kieller – Vice Chair
Peter Koetsier – Treasurer
Jennifer Podemski

Founding Chair – Joe Anderson